Headed In The Right Direction

This time tomorrow at 2:50pm I will have officially completed my first semester of my senior year here at Mount St. Mary’s University.  It seems like the time passed by so quickly. This juncture in my life is very bittersweet; as I continue to manage 18 credits, extra curricular activities, and the little bit of a social life that I try to schedule into my day, I am reminded that this year represents my “lasts”; it will be the last time that I have the opportunity to be with all of my friends in classes below me, the last time that I will be working with Learning Services, the last time that I will be taught by my favorite teachers like: Dr. Stay, Dr. Shealer, Professor Bickford, Sister Anne, Dr. Naberhaus, and Dr. Mueller, the last time I’ll walk all around this beautiful campus enjoying the quaint  subtleties that I have, at times taken for granted but have learned over the years to cherish. I have learned so much here at the Mount, not just in the classroom, but my experiences here have enriched my faith, my testimony, my friendships, the way in which I communicate myself to others, and my outlook on life. I often think back to my freshman year in 2009, an 18-year-old girl, worried about what the next three years would bring. I hoped for the best and rolled with the punches, but I never imagined that I would have grown in so many different facets of my life. God’s plan for me here at the Mount was far greater than anything that I could have imagined for myself.  As graduation approaches with only 6 months remaining, I am beginning to really think about what I would like to do after graduation.  Ideally, I want to take a year off to regroup. During that time I would like to be interning, working, and networking, and narrowing down the graduate schools programs to which I would like to apply, I would also like to work or volunteer with a non-profit organization, and begin to form a layout for my online magazine.  As of right now, all I have are ideas. Nothing is certain. But I take comfort in knowing that my life is not my own. God has a divine plan and purpose for me that was set before the foundations of the world. When ever I get anxious about the future, I am reminded of two scriptures: Philippians 4:8 which says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God” and Jeremiah 29:11 which reads  “For I know the plans that I have for you says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, to give you  hope and a future.” As I continue to grow in faith, and trust the Lord with my life, I believe that I will always be headed in the right direction. He hasn’t brought me this far to leave me. I am excited about my future and all that the Lord has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

