You Can’t Have Experience Without Work and You Can’t Work Without Experience

Now is the time for me to think outside of the box. There is a quote that says, “Your dream job does not exist. You create it.” , and I can’t help but agree. I’ve always been a divergent thinker but even though I have a lot of ideas bounding around in my head, I find it difficult sometimes to know where to start to properly begin to execute the goals that I have in mind.  What I need is experience! Though I have some within the field of Communications like working as freelance journalist for an online publication, having two Social Media Coordinator internships under my belt, and having radio and television broadcasting experience, I feel that there is always something more that I could be doing; something more that I can be learning. I am finding that work and experience go hand in hand. It is becoming more clear that you cannot have one without the other.  Ideally I’d like to be working for a large magazine publication like The Washingtonian, or a Communications Company like Gannett to gain more experience within my field of study and use that opportunity to network, but maybe my answer isn’t there. Maybe God is trying to direct me elsewhere. Les Brown says, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars” and that is exactly what I plan to do. So, I’ll keep praying, keep applying, and stay hopeful that something wonderful will happen for me. Hebrews 11:1 teaches that “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” I may not be able to see yet where my next steps are going to take me, but I know that God sees everything. In Him I will continue to trust, and by the leading of His Holy Spirit I will continue to go boldly in the direction of my dreams.

 

Leave a Reply

