Developing My Pearls

I’ve always found the process of how a pearl is formed to be fascinating, because in a lot of ways it simulates how life is.

“Unlike gemstones or precious metals that must be mined from the earth, pearls are grown by live oysters far below the surface of the sea. Gemstones must be cut and polished to bring out their beauty. But pearls need no such treatment to reveal their loveliness. They are born from oysters complete — with a shimmering iridescence, lustre and soft inner glow unlike any other gem on earth.

A natural pearl begins its life as a foreign object, such as a parasite or piece of shell that accidentally lodges itself in an oyster’s soft inner body where it cannot be expelled. To ease this irritant, the oyster’s body takes defensive action. The oyster begins to secrete a smooth, hard crystalline substance around the irritant in order to protect itself. This substance is called “nacre.” As long as the irritant remains within its body, the oyster will continue to secrete nacre around it, layer upon layer. Over time, the irritant will be completely encased by the silky crystalline coatings. And the result, ultimately, is the lovely and lustrous gem called a pearl.” (http://www.americanpearl.com/historyoyster.html)

Much like in life, we too are faced with things that we seemingly have no control over. What we can control however is our reaction to those “irritants”. Will we allow them to hinder us from being all that God has called us to be? Or will we allow God to use what the enemy meant for evil and do a good work in us that will launch us into His perfect will for our lives? The decision is ours to make.

In Pastor Joel Osteen’s daily devotion today he said this,

“When people hear the story of David and Goliath, sometimes they think, “That was all God.” And yes, in a sense, I know it was God. But the truth is that God didn’t sling the stone. God didn’t cause it to hit at just the right spot. It was the skill God gave David that he had developed.

Like David, God has put in you skill that can slay a giant. You have skill that can open new doors, skills that can lead to an abundant life, but the key is that your skill has to be developed. Every day that you spend growing, learning and improving, you’re getting prepared for that new level.

Today, while you’re waiting for that new opportunity, start sharpening your skills. Study your boss. Study your manager. Learn that position. Be able to step into their shoes. When God sees that you are prepared, then He can open new doors. The scripture says, “Your gifts will make room for you.” Keep developing your skills because there is a giant slayer in you!”

 

That was a Rhema word for me because it spoke directly to this season in my life.

I have been doing a lot of research lately on different publications that I have considered submitting my work to. I have been working diligently on the skills that I have acquired from my education to be more appealing to potential employers and what I have found is that the ideal magazine that I want to write for is the one that I want to create! Even though I get frustrated sometimes with my current position in life as an unemployed college graduate, I am learning that God’s rejection is for my protection and that His delay does not mean denial. I just have to remain patient and hold on with patient expectation for His best for my life as He continues to develop my pearls.

Proverbs 18:16

“A man’s gift makes room for him and brings him before great men.”

Leave a Reply

