Fear Where Is Your Sting?

Eleanor Roosevelt said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” There was a time in my life where traces of fear plagued my thinking and stopped me from going after what I wanted. My biggest fear was not measuring up to be what my family and peers thought I should be. That was an internal battle that I faced day in and day out and I felt like I was losing.  It wasn’t until my junior year of high school that I began to look at things in a new way. It was then that I realized, I was giving people too much power.  From there, my perspective on life changed. God gave me new eyes to see the promises found in His Word. He engraved scriptures on my heart, Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me.”, Philippians 4:8, “whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” , and Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

God’s grace is always sufficient no matter what season for life that we are in.  It took me seven (7) years to reach an understanding of why He allowed me to go through the things that I went through, but the bigger lesson in it all for me, was to learn how  be totally dependent on the Lord; learning His voice and following His leading.

Fear no longer has a hold over me.  I want to and plan to walk in my purpose with full force.  Everything that I want is on the other side of fear so I CHOOSE to be FEARLESS. I have decided that I want this more than I am afraid of it.

Fear where is your sting?

Leave a Reply

