Bobcat Fever

During my first semester of senior year at the Mount, the Lord laid it upon my heart to research graduate school programs. At the time, I was struggling some of my undergraduate classes, so graduate school was the furthest thing from my mind; but in obedience I began looking at the best graduate schools for Communications. I did at least three weeks of intense research and patiently waited for the Lord’s guidance as it pertained to the schools that I ought to take into serious consideration. I had narrowed my original list of 10, to 5 then to 3 but there was one school that seemed to stand out from all the rest, Quinnipiac University. I researched the school’s Communications Department, looked at the graduate school programs that they had to offer and found my niche within the Interactive Media Program there. The Interactive Media program review at Quinnipiac University states that “this program focuses on the principles and practices of creating content for distribution through the Internet, portable media devices and related digital platforms.” (http://www.quinnipiac.edu/academics/qu-online/online-programs/online-graduate-programs/master-of-science-in-interactive-media/)  I thought that it would be exactly what I needed to make a quality magazine! I got connected with the admissions staff at Quinnipiac and got some insight on what the program would entail and other important logistics. I was blown away by the opportunities that this program could offer me, and the amount of knowledge that I would gain as a student.  In the weeks and months that followed, I continued to stay in contact with the admissions staff at the school, requested more information, sent in my application fee and in faith applied to the University.

Toward the end of my senior year, I hit a financial rough patch causing the transcripts that I had requested to be sent to the school to be held. During the summer my faith was tried and tested. I kept asking myself “Ari, did you hear wrong?”, “What is the lesson in this?”, “What is God doing?” Even though at times I felt discouraged, I made the decision that I wasn’t going to let thoughts of doubt plague my thinking. Practicing patience and having trust in God’s timing can be difficult when you can’t seem to find a solution in the natural; but God is so faithful.

During the latter part of September, my dad told me that the remainder of what we owed the Mount had been paid. After that, things moved quickly; my transcripts were sent out at the beginning of that next week, and within two days Quinnipiac had completed my application profile and it was ready for review; all I had to do was wait for a response…

…And yesterday I got it! I received a phone call on my cell phone from an unknown number, and the person on the other end said, “Hello Ariel, this is a congratulatory call from Quinnipiac University, you have been accepted into our Interactive Media Program!!!”

I am officially a Quinnipiac Bobcat and will be ready to take my classes this January!!!!

GOD IS SO AWESOME!!!!

Psalms 37:23 says, “The steps of good man are ordered by the Lord and he delights in His way.”

Leave a Reply

