In The Know: A Dream Deferred

I have had an entrepreneurial spirit for as long as I can remember. Nothing excited me more than the idea that I could own something and make a difference in people’s lives through creative thinking, innovation, and artistry. That excitement has never left me; rather it ignites the passion that I have for the field of communications and the entertainment industry and it is my desire to have my hand in both arenas. The God-given ideas that I have stowed away are just waiting to be introduced to the world, but as we all know, good things take time. Five years ago, I placed this dream of mine to create and own a Christian Lifestyle Magazine and Publication Company in God’s hands. I asked Him to direct it and to help me see it through. I prayed a similar prayer as it pertained to the entertainment industry. I want the music that my sisters and I sing to minister to and connect with our audiences. I want our music to bring hope to those who may feel hopeless, and I want the lyrics of our music to tell the stories of those who may not know how to properly articulate their feelings into words. What I’ve learned is that I can’t rush this vision; but I can nurture it, believe in it, and pray for it. Ultimately though, these dreams and aspirations that I have are going to manifest themselves in God’s timing and I know that they will be well worth the wait.

In life, within the field of journalism, and the music industry I hold a particular biblical principal close to my heart. 2 Timothy 2:15 says, “Study to show yourself approved.” To me, this scripture is a charge to be in the know about what is going on around me as it pertains to my areas of interest. Obviously there are people that are more skilled, more knowledgeable, and even more talented than me, but it is my responsibility to study, comprehend, and foster a deeper thirst for knowledge. When I do my part, God is more free to do His and can put His super over my natural ability.

I recently did some independent research for books about how to write for and publish a magazine and I came across some exciting new reading material!

  1. How To Start A Magazine: And Publish It Profitably by James B. Kobak
  2. How To Start Your Own Magazine: The Fun and Rewarding Way to Become a Successful Entrepreneur by Ellen Hill
  3. Publish Your First Magazine: A Practical Guide For Wannabe Publishers by Lorraine Phillips
  4. How To Write for Magazines: An Inside-the-Business Blueprint for Writing Success by Robert Earle Howells
  5. Publish Your Own Digital Magazine by Robert Hendriks

I believe I am just beginning to scratch the surface of my preordained destiny. I’m not worried about what my tomorrows will bring, I am simply enjoying the journey, remaining hopeful, and trusting that the good work that God has begun in me will be completed in His perfect timing.

Leave a Reply

