Staying Relevant

“When you’re a journalist, just starting out and trying to make a name for yourself, how do you get people in the industry to notice you?”

I ask myself this question almost everyday, and have not come up with the perfect answer. I don’t if there is one. What I do know is that times are changing. Having an online presence is becoming more and more important and now a days breaking into a particular field is becoming less about what you do, and more about who you know. I’d like to think that I’m qualified for certain positions because I had amazing professors in college who taught with passion and dedication, which made me a better student. I have experience within the field, I am a quick study, and I am always looking to attain new skill sets that will help set me apart from other candidates. But is that enough?  I don’t know the answer to that question either. When I get frustrated with where I am, because I am not where I think I ought to be, I have to remind myself that all of the work that I’m doing is just that… work. Sure, I have ideas, dreams, and goals but God has a divine plan and purpose for my life and He knows exactly how to get me to where He has destined me to be. I’m learning daily to be fully dependent on Him, to relax, and trust that He is going to see His plan for my life through to completion; in His timing and in His own way…which means that I have to get out of the way.

I talked to my mom this morning and was sharing with her in part about what I was going through and mentioned that until I was writing for Women’s Elevation Magazine this summer, I hadn’t written any articles since 2010/2011.  I believe that a person should never despise meager beginnings. So, I’m going to more practice what I preach and start small. Freelance here, intern there, do all that I can on my end, and trust the Lord to take care of the rest.

Leave a Reply

