LEVO LEAGUE: A Website For Generation Y

Inspiration is EVERYWHERE! We just have to open our eyes to see it and be willing to look for it in unexpected places. God can use anything and anyone to get His message across to us. Last month I happened upon an article on Facebook written by a contributing writer for Levo League and it was really inspiring. I explored the website further and was amazed at how well organized it was, and how well the articles were written. I find it refreshing to gain new perspectives for professionals within my field. Levo League is a community for young professionals and the goal of the company is to assist young women move forward in their career endeavors by providing networking opportunities, assisting in job hunting, and building skill sets that will help to advance women in the business world. The site provides what they call “Office Hours” which are video chat sessions with professional women in different career  fields. These women take the time to provide their knowledge, share their stories, and give sage advice to the Levo League community. I listened to one “Office Hours” session last week with Candice Cook, an attorney, a motivational speaker, philanthropist, and writer. Her message was so insightful and it really blessed me. I have so many ideas, that I want to turn into actions, but I don’t always know where to start, I just know that I have to start somewhere. Ms. Cook said, ” It is very easy when you first start a business to just want to eat. I don’t think that it’s too much to ask, it’s a very comfortable desire; but the reality is that sometimes you need to be a little bit hungry because if you get satiated off of the filler you miss the quality.”  I consider myself blessed to have had the opportunity to write for two publications and have four articles published within in the past two years. I believe that I am just beginning to scratch the surface. I am still hungry; my work is just beginning, and what I have to offer to the field of journalism, I believe is a message that God has placed inside of me to share. I am driven by my passion for journalism, and I am excited about what my future holds, but I want to pace myself. I want to learn how to live and lead a life of quality, a life that is well balanced. Cook mentioned in her video chat that ” your personal life, and your professional life trajectory are not diametrically opposed. What you have to do is excel in what drives you in your passion.” I don’t want to miss out on opportunities, but I also don’t want to burn out quickly either. I find comfort in knowing that I can seek the Lord for direction as I continue to move forward, and my faith and hope rests in His plan and His process. With hard work, resilience, balance, fortitude, and harnessing the ability to bounce back, I think I’ll be on my way to a bright and successful future.

Leave a Reply

