Rising to the Challenege: A Celebration of Black History

As we celebrate Black History Month, I am reminded of the great sacrifices and successes of the amazing men and women who have come before me. This year, I wanted to pay homage to some of the African-Americans who have paved the way, and inspire me to work-harder,  to do better, and to be better. Over the past two weeks, I have been doing some independent research on “Black Firsts”, and I am learning so much about some truly amazing people. Some of them, I had prior knowledge about, and others I have been learning about for the first time. There are so many people to choose from, but I chose to curtail  my findings to a certain few and explain in some detail as to why I am inspired by them in particular.

The following posts will be dedicated to the men and women that I am celebrating during Black History Month!

Leave a Reply

