Reaching New Heights

If someone were to have asked me two or three years ago, if I saw myself in graduate school, I probably would have giggled and said no.  But God had a different plan. I am three weeks into my first semester of graduate school at Quinnipiac University and I have already learned so much. I have built a relationship with my advisor and my teachers and they have been great in helping me to get adjusted to grad school life as a whole. I’m still working on how to balance my classes, my music and my social life, but I am confident that I will get the hang of it sooner rather than later. Going into this semester, I wasn’t sure how I was going to do in the classes, and at times felt doubtful that my work wasn’t going to be to the standard that I had hoped for because I have never used some of the programs that are required for my courses; but God is so faithful! I received emails from both of my professors this week informing me that they had graded my first few assignments. So far I have received two A’s and one B (may it always be so in the name of Jesus!) Grades are not everything, but for me they represent conformation that I heard from the Lord correctly, that this is where I am supposed to be, and that the field that I am working in is a good fit for me. I am overjoyed as I see God daily working on my behalf.

In other areas of my life too God is stretching me. During Valentine’s Day weekend my big sister and I had the opportunity to be the featured acts at an event; that was a great experience because it caused me to trust the gift that God gave me and let go of any fear that I had about performing in front of a crowd. I learned new music in two weeks, and through practice and a lot of prayer, my performance was well received by all who attended. I am also in the process of working on a new project that the Lord has impressed on my heart to do. It will be another blog, but it will be focused more on my ministry to young women. I’m really excited about it. I already have a lot of ideas. As the Lord leads I will share more.

Exciting things are happening and God is moving! I believe that I am just beginning to scratch the surface of all that He has planned for me in 2014 and I am hopeful and expectant for what is to come!

Leave a Reply

