Reading: Pain To Pleasure

As a child, reading was one of my least favorite subjects in school. The materials that my teachers would assign were of no interest to me. Because of this, I struggled when I was asked to read aloud in class, because I read slower than my classmates. I was more interested in the stories that I made up in my head. Those were the stories that I wanted to read about, so I started writing them. I can remember the very first book that I read cover to cover, it was L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables. It was the first book that I read for fun. I could relate to the character of Anne seeing as how she too found her imagination to be a much more thrilling place than the real-world. That story is still one of my favorites. When I got to middle school, during Black History Month, my class and I had to do projects, and write short essays on African- Americans who had made history. This sparked another interest, the study of my culture. Through these small projects, I learned about how vital African-Americans were and are. Reading about the struggles that we faced as a people during the years of slavery followed by the mistreatment by the majority during the strenuous years of segregation, learning about our faith practices, our work ethic, our perseverance, and ultimately our testimony, ignited in me something that I had never experienced before– a sense of pride. When I reached high school, I wrote my first paper on my favorite period in history, The Harlem Renaissance (I have written many papers on this subject since then as well.) As I did the research for these essays, I didn’t find it to be burdensome, on the contrary, though at times the process was grueling, my thirst for knowledge about this particular time in history, kept me alert and interested. During undergrad, I found my niche within the field of Communication Studies. I took more Communication classes for fun than I ever thought I would. I fell in love with my major, and desired to be knowledgeable about the subject from every angle. I read articles, I would read and reread my textbooks, listen to interviews, and began to write articles of my own (never imagining that I would have four of them published).

Now as a graduate school student, the readings for my classes are longer and more intensive; but because the information is so good, the ill feelings that I once had toward reading are slowly but surely becoming a thing of the past. I have even found myself reading for pleasure. Two summers ago I read a book by author Jordan Christy called How To Be A Hepburn In A Hilton World; that book inspired me so much, I wrote a 500 word article on it and as God would have it, that was the first article that I got published in a magazine! I bought a book from Amazon last week by two Christian authors Robin Jones Gunn and Tricia Goyer entitled Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His, which I am planning to use as a resource for a few of my posts on my new blog On Reserve: A Blog For The Modern Day Esther. I just finished reading that one yesterday. Now I am on to another one. Back in 2010, my mom gifted me a book called Story Proof: The Science Behind The Startling Power of Story written by Kendall Haven. I think that it’s going to be a good read. I’m interested to see how I can apply this information to what I hope to be doing as a career.

 

Leave a Reply

