Lionhearted Ambition

lionhearted 2

Sometimes I feel like a little fish in a big pond. Contrary to what most believe to be true about me, I am an introvert through and through. I enjoy spending time with my own thoughts and I am most comfortable in small intimate settings around small groups of people. I find it ironic that I am pursuing a career in the field of Communications, which requires me to be more extroverted and forceful in my pursuits. Over the past few years, I have been blessed with opportunities to practice speaking in front of large groups of people, organizing events, and writing for publications with fairly large audiences; helping me get acclimated to being an extrovert when absolutely necessary. I know that I can only get better with time. At this stage in my life, I am learning that in order for me to be successful in this field it is going to take perseverance and lionhearted ambition. I’m looking forward to the challenge. My entrepreneurial pursuits are in the forefront of my mind and every day I am working toward that dream; whether it be through furthering my education and knowledge about Communications, Journalism and Mass Media, managing my three blogs, doing freelance work for online publications, or networking with professionals in the field. The grunt work that I am doing now, as I continue to apply for summer and fall jobs and internships and put my focus on my grad classes, sets the foundation for what will, I believe, better prepare me for what lies ahead. Ultimately, if it is my desire to win the game, I have to first understand the players (Anne of Green Gables). So in the meantime, I am learning all that I can.

I love the quote that says, “Dreams come a size TOO big so we can grow into them.” I’m growing into my dream and walking further into my purpose that has been set before me.

Leave a Reply

