Building My Dream Brick By Brick

“You don’t have to be great to get started, but you have to get started to be great.”

~ Les Brown ~

When God has placed a big vision in your heart, sometimes it’s hard to know where to start. You think to yourself, “How is this going to happen?” “Am I qualified?” This is where my story began, I questioned the call on my life because I hadn’t seen people going through what I thought in my younger years I was facing alone. Deep down I knew that there was a reason that God had allowed me to experience the rejection of others, and constructive and negative criticism, I just couldn’t put my finger on it at the time. Little did I know that those very same things were preparing me for my career in journalism and my pursuits in music. What I have realized is that God will never give me more than I can handle. He is always preparing me for something greater. I am a woman with faith and vision. I am a dreamer. I am a doer, and I believe that I am called to minster through my writing.

Isaiah 55:8-9 says, “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.” I may not always understand God’s plan, but I have learned that it is better to trust it than to fight against it.

If I wait for the perfect time to get started on what I believe God has called me to do, I’ll be waiting for the rest of my life. So I choose take little steps everyday in the direction of my purpose and I trust the Holy Spirit to give me the strength to endure the journey with joy.

Leave a Reply

