The Big Picture

My mom called me a writer long before I could hold a pen to paper. For as long as I can remember, I have loved the idea of “story”; whether it be listening to them, on occasion reading them, and eventually writing them. One of my favorite movies of all time is the 1957 classic, Funny Face starring the incomparable Audrey Hepburn  and Fred Astaire. The movie depicts what it would be like to work at a magazine; uptight bosses, “yes” men and women, busy schedules, tight deadlines and ditzy models. In more recent films like How to Lose A Guy In 10 Days and the Devil Wears Prada, the world of journalism is still being glamorized. Although it’s flattering that journalism is getting it’s shine on the big screen, real journalists know the deal.

True, the journalism industry may not be as glitzy as Hollywood makes it out to be, but from my short experience within the field I can say that it is one of the most rewarding.

I believe that when we are moving in our gifts and ultimately in our purpose, God gives us the grace to do the things that we once thought were impossible.

I am looking forward to seeing how God is going to use me in this field and it is my hope that I will continue to blossom into the woman that He has destined me to be.

Leave a Reply

