Where Do I Fit?

“I became a journalist to come as close as possible to the heart of the world.”

– Henry Luce

Journalism is no longer a constricted field. The role of the journalist is changing.  Journalists are required to be well-versed in a variety of topics and in more recent years in technology as well. As a young journalist, coming into the field, passionate about different beats, the task of finding where I fit in can be daunting. My passion for writing about faith and how it impacts the lives of those around me is just as strong as my interest in entertainment and multimedia journalism. I am fascinated by each of these areas separately and ultimately my desire is to bridge the gaps between them to create somthing new. I am faced with this question, “where do I begin?” Right now,  I am doing what I know how to do; making my requests known to God,  praying for His Holy Spirit to order my steps, and becoming more knowledgeable about this field inside and outside of the classroom. 

I believe that my journey is as unique as me, it is unconventional, and that’s ok;  it keeps my life exciting,  keeps me humble and perhaps more importantly,  it requires me to be fully dependent on the Lord. I know that there is an audience for the type of journalism that I am writing and a specific market for the publication I am in the process of creating. As I continue to bumbard Heaven, I trust that the Lord will continue to reveal my purpose to me.

Isaiah 55:8, “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. “And My ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.” (NLT) 

Leave a Reply

