Uphill Climb

Toward the end of 2014 I was in a really bad state. I felt like I was caught between a rock and a hard place, I couldn’t see how I was going to make it through my third semester of my graduate school program successfully because of ONE class. I stayed up countless nights working on assignments, I cried myself to sleep, woke up exhausted, and at one point I had a little health scare because I wasn’t taking care of myself properly. I had never experienced anything like that in succession before in my life; yes it was scary, and yes it was frustrating, but I thank God that it is a thing of the past.

What the Lord showed me through ALL of it though, was that He remained the same, faithful to confirm His word and His promises, He kept me, He was my refuge and my strength when I was weak, and had reached the very end of myself. His grace covered me throughout the semester, and His granted His favor upon my situation, so much so that I was granted an extension period to complete the assignments that I missed in one course, and received an “A-” in the other.

At the start of this year, I got before the Lord and simply asked Him what was on His heart. I had been so worried and caught up in my own mess that I didn’t make time to commune with Him and seek the direction that I needed and continue to deepen my relationship with Him. Needless to say we had a lot of catching up to do!

What I heard in my spirit was that this year was going to be a season of increased joy, restoration and a rebuilding of my confidence, free from stress and more dependency on the Lord. It is with great anticipation that I look ahead to whatever is in my future, because His word has gone forth and joy has been promised.

Within days, I began to feel my stress level decrease, I could breathe a little easier, knowing that this year would not be like the last. Then, recently, I was prompted by the Holy Spirit to switch my concentration within the Interactive Media program at  Quinnipiac University from Production to Social Media; in obedience I sent out the necessary emails to the program director about what I was considering doing and found favor with him. Within 48 hours, my track had been changed, my new schedule was sent to me, my FAFSA was processed, and I received additional funds from my school to pay for my classes. Now everything is coming together, my spirit and my mind are at peace, and I am continuing to stand on Philippians 3:14 which says, “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

*Understand, this post is not written to brag about me. It is a true testimony of how much God loves us, how much He is concerned about us, and it serves as an example of what He can do on our behalf if only we would choose to trust Him, completely and wholeheartedly. *

Be encouraged Dreamers that when no one is around and you find yourself crying, your tears are a language the He understands; He hears the silent prayers that you pray and He knows the deepest desires of your heart. Isaiah 55:8-9 declares, “For My thoughts are not your thoughts and My ways are not like your ways…For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”  Trust Him to see you through every situation in which you find  yourself, and know that His plans for your life far exceed your own.

Leave a Reply

