For The Love of Writing

IMG_20150515_091347

A writer is simply a photographer of thoughts.”

~ Brandon A. Trean

When I first started writing, I didn’t do it for anyone else. I did it to express what ever it was that I was feeling at the time; it’s a creative outlet that I so often use to convey thoughts, emotions and ideas that on occassion I have trouble verbally formulating.  I’ve always been a lover of the written word; and enjoy hearing beautiful words spoken together; each word like a pearl, carefully strung together on a string.

Writing helped me to get through some of the most trying seasons of my life and for that, I will be forever grateful to the Lord, for showing me how to throw myself into my craft, and commit the gift to Him. Now that I have been studying Communications and to an extent linguistics, I have more of an appreciation for what good writing is, I have a better understanding of my role as a writer and more of a desire to be counted in the number of those individuals and scholars who are masters of their craft. As a journalist, I believe that we are required to be a voice for the people. When we find the stories on which we report, there is a responsibility that we have to be thorough in our research, accurate in our content, and objective in our writing. Journalism is a public medium, and as such it must ensure that the people’s stories are being conveyed in a concise and authentic manner.

It is my personal mission to be an asset to any publication that I work for, because I understand and respect the foundation on which this field was built, I have a passion for people and a love for writing. I want to better it and ultimately bring something new to the table, offering a new perspective, a Christian perspective to the stories that we hear about every day. “Journalism is a battlefield, my faith is my ammunition, and my pen is my weapon of choice.”

I do this because I LOVE it and because I am CALLED to it.

My thoughts are filled with beautiful words…and I will use my voice as a writer would use pen and ink.”

~ Psalm 45:1

Leave a Reply

