A Leap of Faith

My best friend and I have known each other since we were two years old; that’s over 20 years of friendship. Although during our adolescent going into our early teen years we didn’t see each other as much as we would have liked to, because of distance, we found solace in knowing that our friendship was strong enough to withstand even the most trying circumstances.

During my sophomore year of college while we were having one of our “Skype-get together’s” she told me that she and her family were moving to Florida. I must admit that my heart sunk a little bit. I had never had a friend move away before, but I knew that she and her family operated in the flow of the Holy Spirit. I was afraid that things were going to change, and at the time I wasn’t ready for such a transition. We got through it though with more frequent phone calls, Facebook messaging, and occasional  letters back and forth. Slowly but surely, our new normal began to fall into place.

When we graduated in 2013, she got offered a position at the network she had been interning with and chose to stay down in Florida. There was provision for her there. It was clear that God had a plan for her, and as her friend, I was grateful that she wanted to include me in her journey.

My best friend inspires me. As I work toward finishing my Master’s program and start thinking about what I want to do next, I am excited about the possibilities. Within the next few of years, I want to save up, continue building the Simply Ari Brand, freelance for larger publications, apply for positions where I can use my degree and eventually move out of Maryland.

I don’t want to limit myself. I want to be diligent in the work that I’m doing, be prayerful about where the Lord would have me to go, and take more leaps of faith. The future is exciting and I’m looking forward to seeing what the Lord has in store.

Leave a Reply

