The Mahogany Man

59c018513233c47cf143a599e5d5d552

Artwork by: Larry Poncho Brown

Strength. Resilience. Faith. Diligence. Perseverance. Commitment.

These are just a few of the words that come to mind when I think about my father and my grandfather(s). I conducted a poll on the Simply Ari Instagram page today in honor of Father’s Day and posted some of my favorite celebrity fathers: Steph Curry, Boris Kojoe, Kevin Hart, Chris Brown and Lance Gross. All Black Men…No Likes. Then I posted a picture of Justin Timberlake; within a matter of seconds I was notified that people liked that post. Just a simple observation, but it spoke volumes.

Today as I scrolled through my news feeds and saw friends posting beautiful sentiments about their fathers and or father figures, my heart overflowed with joy because it proved what I believed and what I have seen all of my life; that there are good upstanding black men in the world. It offends me that society has so warped our perception of African-American men that we fail to appreciate the ones that are right in front of us. Whether he is a father, a grandfather, a brother, an uncle, a friend, a mentor, a coach or a counselor, they are there and they deserve to be appreciated.

So to all the Mahogany Men, today I celebrate you. I appreciate the men of standard that you are. I am grateful for your recognition of the beauty that resides in a black woman, for your willingness to do what is necessary to provide for your families, for your prayers, for your commitment to your children, for perhaps standing in the gap for someone who may not be present, and for your covering. It is my prayer that you feel loved and appreciated not just today but every day.

Blessings To You.

XO,

Ari

Leave a Reply

