Freshly Brewed: Coffee Lovers Guide

3c9ab0145c7216f1a70ab06f89d13f87

Did you know that coffee is one of the top most consumed beverages in the United States? According to the website, TOP 5 “more than 80% of adults in the U.S. drink coffee” (healthy-foods.top5.com). It’s commonly said that the way that you take your coffee tells a lot about you and your personality. In an article written by Emily Waters called “What Does Your Coffee Reveal About You?” She discloses the results of clinical psychologist, Dr. Ramani Durvasula’s coffee case study. (http://psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2013/09/11/what-does-your-coffee-reveal-about-you/)

Do you take your coffee Black? Instant? or is a Cappuccino, Frappuccino, or Latte more suited for your lifestyle?

Provided are some of Dr. Durvasula’s findings. Check them out and see if your personality matches the characteristics associated with your favorite coffee beverage:

Black Coffee Drinkers:

  • Old School
  • Purist
  • Patient
  • Efficient
  • Quiet but Moody
  • Resistant to Making Changes

Latte Drinker:

  • Comfort Seekers
  • People Pleasers
  • Generous with Time
  • Can Get Over-Extended
  • Don’t Always Take Great Care of Themselves

Frappuccino Drinker:

  • Likes to Try New Things
  • Socially Bold
  • Trendsetters
  • Spontaneous
  • Imaginative
  • Tendency to be Reckless
  • Don’t Always Make Healthy Choices

Decaf Coffee Drinkers :

  • Likes to be In Control
  • Obsessive
  • Health Conscious
  • Perfectionists

Instant Coffee Drinker:

  • Procrastinators
  • Laid Back
  • Takes Life As It Comes
  • Puts Things Off
  • Poor Planners

Although I grew up around coffee, I didn’t start drinking it until I got much older. When I got to college and decided on becoming a Communication Studies major with a concentration in Journalism, as silly as it may sound, I had a desire to play the part of  “journalist” in my every day look. Around campus it was common for people to see me with a pen in my hair, a cross-body messenger bag, notebooks in one hand, and of course a hot cup of coffee in the other. Coffee became a part of my college identity. It was my morning pick me up as I went to my 8AM classes, my common order when I hung out with my friends on the weekend, and my late night go-to when I stayed up til the wee hours of the morning writing papers. I like to try the seasonal beverages like pumpkin-spiced lattes during the Fall or Gingerbread Lattes during the Winter, and on occasion, I enjoy a java-chocolate combination or fresh cappuccino, but my favorite coffee mixture is a simple black medium blend with sugar, no cream.

What’s your signature coffee drink?

c4293ee13d06d1e028a25931baf7fd3f

2 thoughts on “Freshly Brewed: Coffee Lovers Guide

Leave a Reply

