The Importance of Mentors

11146312_893353687393916_7510329740032932096_n

The study of Communications is a fascinating field. There are so many opportunities to take advantage of under its umbrella. I focused on Journalism, Broadcast Journalism, and Mass Media during undergrad and got to explore those facets in depth. I got to create, manage, and host two radio shows on my campus’s radio station, I learned how to interview and was able to write hard news stories about events on campus and write freelance pieces for a campus newsletter; I also had the opportunity to be a campus news reporter. Those experiences were invaluable and really helped to shape a journalistic style that is uniquely mine.

Now that I am in graduate school, I have shifted my focus slightly to Interactive Media with a concentration in Social Media. I think the biggest lesson that I have learned thus far is that the study of Social Media is significantly different than the leisurely use of Social Media in our everyday lives.

In 2012 I created my  professional networks: This WordPress blog, a Twitter account, and a LinkedIn account. However like any novice, the problem was, I wasn’t exactly sure how to make the best use of them. Because I love to write, I figured posting to my blog would be a good way to start, so that I could create an online presence, and gain an audience. I then created my LinkedIn and Twitter pages because I wanted to connect with professionals in my field. I’ve been learning on the go, applying what I’ve learned from my classes to my social media pursuits, but there are things that I need help with.

What do you when you’re stuck in a digital rut? You seek the advice of people who know how to help. This is why I believe  having mentors is so important.  I never thought that I would need a Social Media Mentor, but I do. I really want to make the best use of my social media pages to grow the Simply Ari Brand, and having a mentor who can share their expertise would be really beneficial for me, especially now that I have a more clear vision of where I want Simply Ari to go.

I try to stay well connected with different people because in this field, relationships are everything. The Lord has placed some wonderful mentors in my life and for them I am grateful. I put my trust in His divine direction for the future of Simply Ari.

Leave a Reply

