The Gems of Practicality

Hey Dreamers!

This post won’t be long; I just wanted to take a moment to share a few thoughts with you.  It is my hope that it will spark conversation between us.

When I really started taking writing seriously and devoted time to studying some of the greats that came before me like  WEB Dubois, Maya Angelou, C.S Lewis, Earnest Hemingway, and independently researched articles and writings by Dale Partridge, Jefferson Bethke, and Jonathan Merritt, I tried to find what made each of these people special. What makes them tick? What sets their voices apart?  What I came up with is this: all of the writers listed felt prompted to voice their opinions about the goings-on of the day and bring to the table a unique perspective to enrich the world and add to its conversation. As an observer and admirer of these writers, I had to then ask myself, “Ari what do you have to offer?” and to be honest that question scared me a little bit, but I knew it was one that I needed to find an answer for.

Someone told me once that I was a “practical writer”. At the time, I didn’t know how to take that. What I gather from it now however is that the word “practical” is not derogatory, so I shouldn’t be offended by it; but rather flattered because it means that the work that I produce is easy to understand. Which is a blessing.

Writing helped me get through some of the lowest points in my life; it was a friend when I needed it, and I felt solace knowing that what I was feeling was safely nestled in between each line that I wrote.

I’ve come to a place in my life where I think I need to revisit this question, “Ari, what do you have to offer?”

  1. A Christian perspective
  2. A practical sense of Who Jesus is
  3. A practical application of faith in everyday life
  4. Hope and
  5. Encouragement
Leave a Reply

