Winding Down

This past week was jam-packed with high-energy, emotions, and events.

End of the Semester Reflection:

The nature of the Interactive Media program at Quinnipiac University is rigorous, but by the grace of Almighty God, I have made it through another semester and will be preparing to complete my Masters in the spring (May 2016). As I reflect on the faithfulness of the Lord, I am overwhelmed with emotion. Through every success I have been humbled and through every obstacle, my dependency on the Lord has become all the more evident. Some of the greatest lessons that I have learned throughout the course of this program is first to cease striving (Psalm 46:10) and learn the value of being dependent on the Lord. Second is recognizing that the Lord’s grace is ALWAYS sufficient. I know that I was called to this Master’s program, and with every conversation that I have my professors, and professionals in the field that truth is confirmed in new ways. It’s surreal to think that this time next year I will have a Master of Science degree under my belt, but I am so grateful to the Lord for ordering my steps, believing in me when I doubted my ability, and for entrusting this journalism ministry that is Simply Ari to me.

Celebrating the National Association of Black Journalists 40th Anniversary:

I had the incredible opportunity to attend NABJ’s 40th Anniversary Reception in Washington DC this weekend, and though it was smack dab in the throws of Finals week, I knew that I couldn’t turn down an event like this. What made the afternoon extra special was that I was able to bring my mom along with me. It was important that she be there because I wanted her to see why I am so passionate about this field.  Some of the highlights from the event were being able to hear the stories of NABJ Founders, the history of the Association and being in the company of established news-makers.

I got to shake the hands and take pictures with some of the Founders like Sam Ford of WCCO-TV Minneapolis, Maureen Bunyan from WTOP-TV in Washington DC, Sandra Dillard of The Denver Post, Paul Brock the Founding Executive Director of NABJ and Norma Adams-Wade of Dallas Morning News.

 

Perhaps my greatest take away from the event was when I had to chance to speak with Ms. Adams-Wade one-on-one. She inquired about who I was, where I attend school and what my plans are after graduation. I shared my heart with her, and she told me, “when I saw you, I knew that you were on your way to doing something great, and that’s why we (the NABJ Founders) started this association. For moments like this.” I told her how inspired I was by her story and how much I enjoyed hearing her speak and she placed her hands on my shoulders, looked into my eyes and said with a smile, “I am now passing it all onto you.” What an incredible moment! That is something that I will treasure for the rest of my life!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

