Study To Show Thyself Approved

When I was younger, my mom always used to tell me, “Ari if you want to be a good writer, you have to read.” Initially I didn’t understand the correlation between the two, now I get it.  How can I expect others to read my work, if I don’t take the time to read others peoples work?  That is a selfish-demand, and I never want my writing to be self-serving. I want it to minister to the hearts of many and bring hope, encouragement, and Godly-perspective to their lives.

Now don’t get me wrong, I read (more frequently now than ever before it seems): it is essential to the nature of the journalism field. I spend most of my time reading articles in magazines, newspapers and on the internet. However this year I have a desire to do more. I want to challenge myself to read books. I can count on one hand the number of books that I have read (and enjoyed) cover to cover, so this will be an interesting feat but I suspect that I will be better for it in the end.

Ari magazine

With that in mind, I am dusting off some books from my shelf and delving into the knowledge that is nestled between their pages. I finished one book yesterday evening called God Speaks Your Love Language by Gary Chapman (if you’re interested in psychology, interpersonal communication and faith, I would absolutely recommend this book!) and now I am onto another; this one is fresh out of the Amazon box, The Wait by actress Meagan Good and her husband, film producer and minister, DeVon Franklin. I’ve heard good things about this book and I’m excited to have it in my growing collection!

 

 

Leave a Reply

