Praying Planning and Preparing

It’s hard to believe that it has already been a week since the National Association of Black Journalists Joint Convention in Washington DC. On the Simply Ari website I shared about my experience (I’d encourage you to go check it out!), but I didn’t mention what I learned or what I wanted to do next.  After all that I learned while I was there and after meeting so many people, it got me thinking, “Ari where do you feel the Lord is directing in this season?” At first I didn’t know how to answer, but now that I’ve had some time to decompress from the event, spend time with the Lord, and reflect on what seasoned newsmakers and mentors have told me; I think I’m beginning to get my answer.

Though the nurturing and continued building of Simply Ari is my main focus, in order for me to be the most effective in my efforts, it is becoming abundantly clear that I need to be working. I need to do a better job of putting myself in a position to succeed: show brands, organizations, and companies that I can be an invaluable asset to their team, if they give me a chance. I was encouraged by my conversations with journalists, Norma Adams-Wade, Shomari Stone, Gia Peppers and Lola Ogunnaike who all at different points told me, “There’s no question you’re headed in the right direction. Keep going.”  My question is “Go where?”  I suppose only the Lord can reveal that to me. At this juncture, I am not looking for just any opportunity, I am looking for the right opportunity; an opportunity that makes sense for where I am ultimately trying to go.

With that being said, the search is on once again for positions at places where I can be challenged, nurtured and groomed into the best journalist that I can be. I am eager to learn and I am ready to work. I am trusting the Holy Spirit to continue ordering my steps and trusting the Lord to open a door that will catapult me further into the destiny that has been prepared for me.

I am expecting for God to move mightily on my behalf and I am looking forward to seeing what He does and how He’s going to do it!

Leave a Reply

