Testing The Waters

For a majority of my life, I have been a student. Some of the most important life lessons that I’ve learned have been within the confines of academia. In many ways, because of this, there was a difficulty that ensued, mainly, learning how to shake my  identity of “student” and embracing a new role as a “professional.”

I have been on the outskirts of journalism for sometime now, interning and freelancing; and though those opportunities helped me figure out what I wanted to do (and what I didn’t), I have yet to experience what it’s like to be immersed in this field. Mentors have told me, “You have a clear vision, keep going.” “You’re doing all of the right things, keep at it.” “Keep pushing, eventually the right position will come along.”  I am at a point now where I really want to see what I can do, what I’m capable of if challenged and mentored. I have a strong sense that I am called to use this platform for a purpose much greater than anything that I can imagine for myself. I’m just waiting for the right opportunity to explore it.

Of one thing I am certain, when God is at the helm, His grace, favor and provision will be with me in whatever job He has me in. Right now,  I am testing the waters, applying for positions at different publications, and my focus is on following the peace of the Holy Spirit.

 

Leave a Reply

